In spite of the fact that I rarely work with Coatlicue, as a Wisdome Writer, I AM all too familiar with the concept (and the occurrence) that Divine Inspiration can strike, hit, whack and smack, an artist, actor, dancer, musician, writer, etc., during the middle of the night.

Right now, the time is currently 3:08AM, although after I write this draft, I shall save it, go back to bed, then publish it after I wake up from having slept for a little while longer.

Recently, one of my personal heroes showed me a Penn and Teller video on YouTube.  And on this particular episode was Christian Day (http://www.christianday.com).

Now, I AM aware that he may not be everyone’s cup of tea, however, I AM a firm believer that Wisdom can come from anyone or anything.

I first learned about Christian Day when I was just beginning to learn about the Tarot, Witchcraft and the Internet.  And the Salem Tarot Home Page (http://www.salemtarot.com) was of great assistance to me.

I do not know if Christian Day remembers me, as so many years have gone by and it has been three years, at least, since I contacted him, but I was very happy to see this Website still up and running.

When I wrote about Coatlicue yesterday, Sunday, March 2, 2014 (see http://thetarotman.wordpress.com/03/02/coatlicue/), I stated that this Aztec Earth Mother can be called upon to surrender and release grief.

And while visiting the Salem Tarot Website a few minutes ago, I found this Victorian Spell for dealing with grief.

Before I continue, please note that the Spells of the Day on this Website cannot be bookmarked.  So, you either need to print or save the document, by accessing your “File” menu.  I learned this the hard way, years ago, so please, learn from my mistake (and my lack of Mindfulness, from that time in my life).

For those of you that are carrying hard, seemingly impossible to dissolve grief, sadness, despair, etc., this Spell is for you.

A Victorian Spell to Deal with Grief

In the Victorian era, people carried jet when grieving for a loved one.  They believed this black stone soaked up sadness and restored emotional balance.  This type of amulet is still useful, especially if blessed with a prayer, incantation, or supplication to your personal God/dess.  The amulet should be carried until grief has lifted.  Keep the stone with other mementos for those times when sadness returns, such as the anniversary of a death.

General Uses

Acceptance of loss, easing stress.

Timing

Waning moons.  Bright sunlight.  During astrological water signs (such as now, while the Sun is Transiting in Pisces).  Months of February, August, or November.

Personally, my experience with black Crystals (such as Jet, Black Onyx, Black Obsidian, Black Tourmaline, etc.) is that they do absorb negative energy.

Recently, a new client shared with me that her assistant (also a new client) had a Black Tourmaline that had cracked.  She was being harassed and attacked energetically and psychically by a psychic vampire (and boy, did some of us have a lot of that, last year!).

Also, generally speaking, black is an absorbing color.  Although I AM drawn to dark, rich jewel tones and have often worn black, I know I become a walking sweat machine when I wear black in the Summer, especially during the day (and sometimes at night, too).

If you call upon Coatlicue to work with dissolving and banishing your grief, you could petition Her using these or similar words, “Coatlicue, Aztec Mother Earth Goddess, I ask You to fill this Jet with Your Healing and Restorative Love.  Take this grief away from me, and restore me to Joy and Love.”

I have often read in Catherine Ponder’s books that the word “Restoration” means “to make beautiful again.

In fact, in times of great stress or despair, you could Divinely Decree: “THIS IS A TIME OF DIVINE RESTORATION.  MIRACLES FOLLOW MIRACLES AND WONDERS NEVER CEASE.”  Or, “DIVINE RESTORATION IS NOW BEING MADE MANIFEST IN MY LIFE, MY RELATIONSHIPS AND MY WORLD.  I MOVE FORWARD WITH PEACE, HEALTH AND PLENTY.”

May Coatlicue, Aztec Earth Mother, continue to Divinely Heal and Divinely Restore us.

In the meantime, thank you for honoring who I AM and what I do.

"Coatlicue," by THE Hrana Janto.

“Coatlicue,” by THE Hrana Janto.

