A Flash of Illumination.


Last night (Monday, April 23, 2012), I had the honor and pleasure of spending time with my a very dear friend.  He and I have a few things in common.  He and I are both Gay Men, both Magickal Practitioners, both Diviners of the Sacred Tarot, and both born with a beautiful appreciation for the Mysterious and the Divine.

Every time I get together, socially, with someone I love and adore, I refer to that time as a “Sacred Play Date,” a term I learned from Doreen Virtue, via her Magical Mermaids and Dolphins Oracle Cards.  

Last night, this dear friend and I had, at one point in a conversation we were having, talked about how, when he wanted or needed some extra “oomph” for Divine Inspiration, he would consult the Sacred Tarot and pull three Cards.

I was especially excited about this, as I have two books that are anthologies of short stories either featuring the Tarot or inspired by the Tarot.  My excitement was such that, I told him I would do this tonight (Tuesday, April 24, 2012), as a way of receiving Divine Inspiration for this blog post.

I grounded and centered my Energies, I shuffled one of my two copies of the Tarot Affirmations Cards, and pulled the following:

Knight of Wands, Death and Ten of Coins

I got nothing.

I looked at the Cards and tuned into them and got nothing.  Next, I looked at the specific Affirmations printed on the Cards to glean what I could to come up with a blog post.  Again, nothing.

Then, I remembered something I had read in one of Llewellyn Worldwide’s Tarot Readers.  It was about turning the rest of the Deck upside-down to look at the bottom most Card (in my Readings, I call this the “Final Message Card”).  The Card I found was The Tower.

Now, I found this very interesting.  First, The Tower Card is Astrologically linked with the Planet Mars, Planet of Motivation, Goals and Desire.

Second, in Magickal Traditions, Tuesday is the Day of Mars.  I began this post after Midnight, so it is now Tuesday–Day of Mars–, April 24, 2012 (SEE my post, “Powers of the Planets, Part III: Mars” for more info on this Power Planet, which you can read by visiting: https://thetarotman.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/powers-of-the-planets-part-iii-mars/).

Of course, I also found it interesting because of another previous post, “How to overcome the testing…” which you can read by visiting: https://thetarotman.wordpress.com/2012/04/19/how-to-overcome-the-testing/ ), I think this Card’s message was primarily Re-Minding me to honor my Truth, no matter what.

For example, since the beginning of this year (2012), there were three people who gave me less than twenty-four hours notice before cancelling an appointment with me.  Now, I knew after the second time it happened that the Goddess (or, Spirit, if you prefer) was telling me to handle this, but I did not follow that Divine Direction.

Perhaps it was a feeling of a lack of worthiness on my part, or because there was a frisson of poverty consciousness.  Either way, I knew that if I did not handle it, then it would happen a third time.

Well–surprise, surprise!–it did happen a third time.  And I KNEW that it would keep happening, until I finally followed the Goddess Guidance I had received to fully take care of this situation, once and for all.  In other words, by virtue of me refraining from handling it, I was mentally accepting it and telling the Universe that it was OK if it kept happening.

Ladies and gentlemen, I AM happy to report that I did put a stop to it.  The third individual to give me less than twenty-four hours notice before cancelling an appointment with me is one that I no longer contact.  I removed her Email address and no longer contact her for any reason.

As for the other two, I had a conversation with them in my Mind.  I mentally and telepathically informed them that, if they gave me less than twenty-four hours notice before cancelling an appointment with me, then I would no longer make myself available to them, both professionally and personally.

Since then, neither one of them have given me less than twenty-four hours notice before needing to reschedule an appointment with me.

Personally, I have a feeling that I need to look deeper within myself regarding a long-standing issue (and yes, dear blog readers, I know exactly what said issue is).

The full name of this Deck is Tarot Affirmations: For Positive Growth and Change.  The text, including the Affirmations was written by Sally Hill, Ph.D., and the Cards feature the images of the Universal Waite Tarot, which is identical to the Rider-Waite Tarot, created by Arthur Edward Waite and illustrated by Pamela Colman Smith, but recolored by Mary Hanson-Roberts.

The Deck was published by U. S. Games Systems in 2001 and is currently out of print.  If you can find a copy without paying more than, say, $100 for it, then buy it.

Finally, I would recommend calling upon Archangel Michael, the Divine Protector of the Archangels, to powerfully cleanse any or all of your Decks, and you are also more than welcome to call upon any Celestial Being, especially Goddesses of Prophecy, Warrior Goddesses, etc.

Of course, I cannot over-recommend using any Metaphysical Methods and/or Sacred Tools that you would normally use to cleanse, consecrate and charge any of your Decks.

In closing, I leave you with this: What is it that you are unwilling to see about yourself?  And are you willing to surrender and release it so that you can see and be the real you?

Trump XVI, The Tower from the “Universal Waite Tarot.”
2 comments on “A Flash of Illumination.

What do you think?

