Healing, Cleansing, Blessing Baths

I AM most thankful to have my personal Psychic Advisor, Roger Pratt (www.rogerpratt.com).  For more than ten years, I have learned a great deal about so many Metaphysical, Magickal and Mystical things from him.

About one-and-a-half months ago (Monday, March 26, 2012, to be precise), I was reading some of the comments on his Facebook page.  The Card of the Day that he pulled and uploaded onto his Facebook page was the Three of Cups.  Someone had commented about a lot of bad luck she was having, and he recommended two very powerful cleansing baths.

Now, although I had sent this info to the participants–both in person and Energetic/remote–of both the group and private Metaphysical Classes in March of this year, I had been Divinely Guided to share it with you, the dear readers of my blog.

Before I do, I wish to assure all of you that your luck does not have to be bad, or even very bad to benefit from these Blessed Baths.  Frankly, when I first read and learned about them, things were going quite well for me.  And these baths certainly improved things in my life.

On that note, here we go…

First, on a Tuesday night (and yes, it needs to be on a Tuesday night) you take a herb called Bitter Broom (or, as my fellow Latinos and Latinas would call it, “Escoba Amarga,” which is Spanish for “Bitter Broom”).  You take a bunch of it, and put it in a pot as you would cook some pasta.  Turn the flame high to boil it, then set it to a low flame to simmer.  Do this for twenty minutes.

Next, strain the water into a warm bath, add one-quarter cup salt (I prefer Sea Salt, but I digress), then soak in the tub for twenty minutes.

Now, Bitter Broom is Sacred to a Deity named Babalu-Aye (bah-bah-LOO ah-YEH).  He Is the Yoruban/Nigerian/Afro-Caribbean God of Healing.  However, some of you may feel more comfortable working with His Catholic guise, Saint Lazarus.  Of course, if you feel more comfortable working with another God of Healing, especially physical healing, then please feel free.

Now, on Friday (and yes, this bath must be on a Friday), you take a different bath.  With this one, you take the same pot, but this time you put in rose petals, cinnamon (I prefer ground, but the sticks can do well, too) and orange peels.  When it cools, add one tablespoon of honey, but before you do so, you must taste the honey.

Let me be very clear about this: you MUST taste the honey before you add it to the mixture.  The reason is simple: this bath invokes the power of Oshun, the Yoruban/Nigerian/Afro-Caribbean Goddess of Love, Beauty and Sensual Pleasures.  One of Her most well-known Sacred Stories is that someone tried to poison Her with Her Beloved Honey.  Ever since then, anyone that wants something from Her, wants Oshun to give him or her something, or needs Her Help in some way, he or she MUST taste the honey.  If you do not do this, then She shall think you are trying to poison Her.

Please, do yourself a favor: TASTE the honey!

Now, if you are not necessarily open to working with Oshun, you may feel more comfortable working with Her Catholic Emanation, Mother Mary (or, as one of my favorite authors, Judika Illes, calls Her, Mary the Blessed Mother).  Of course, you can also work with any other Love Goddess (or, Love God, for that matter), when engaging in this particular bath.

Incidentally, it is not required that you light a candle, light incense, Meditate, Pray or cast a circle before you engage in either one or both of these baths.  However, engaging in any one or all of these activities before doing so can only add to its power, effectiveness and Energy.

The first time I engaged in the Bitter Broom bath–or, as I call it, the “Banishing the Bad” Bath–I felt very powerful and I felt as though a Healing, especially a physical healing was taking place.  Indeed, I remember experiencing no pain or discomfort in my body at any time that week.  As for the Friday, “Gettin’ the Good Stuff” Bath, I have always had an affinity with Oshun; with this particular bath, I light a golden yellow (one of Her Sacred Colors) candle, and sang a song to Her.  I felt immediately restored by this bath.  By the way, in Catherine Ponder’s books, she has written that the word “restoration” means “to make beautiful again.”

The benefits of these Healing Baths have been so wonderful that I engage in the baths once a month.  They work for me, and I have no doubt that, if you use them, then they shall work for you.

Now, regarding the Bitter Broom herb, if you live in an area where there is a large Latin American population, you may find a lot of botanicas, which usually cater to the Latino/Latina communities.  It seems to be a very popular item in the one where I purchase it, but any place that sells (including the Internet) may have it.

However, in preparing for this post I was Divinely Guided to recommend that people check any resources available to them (both online and offline) to see if it is indigenous to their area.  If your area has any “nature walks,” the person who leads them could tell you if it is growing in your area.

And before you ask, I AM sure that you could use a substitute herb, but as I have always been fond of saying, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”  The Bitter Broom herb works for this “Banish the Bad” Bath; I invite you to refrain from accepting any substitutes.

If you do engage in these “Healing, Cleansing, Blessing Baths,” I would love to hear about your results.

Before I close, I wish to welcome my newest blog follower, “mommymystic” to “This Is Who I AM.”  Perhaps this time I shall, indeed, have thirteen new followers before the next Full Moon on Monday, June 4, 2012.  I wonder who shall have the opportunity to have his or her question answered free of charge by Robert Alvarez, the Psychic Witch, if and when that happens.  As a late and great Capricorn used to say, “Time tells every story.”  Thank you.

10 comments on “Healing, Cleansing, Blessing Baths

  1. Ah! I did NOT see this . . . Looking forward to reading . . . I see “HONEY”!! Oh, funny, I almost made a video of me tasting honey for the SECOND CHAKRA!

  2. I can’t wait to try it! Part of what Matagi and I are looking for with our next rental is at least a second bathroom, if not a third! Right now I share one bathroom with a man and a 9 year-old, not very conducive to a Tuesday night bath – or baths in general – as I am easily skeeved. (I really dislike sharing my bathroom. Any room in the house can be a mess, but don’t mess with my bathroom or my kitchen! And children, ew, I have to say, they are constantly oozing something gross and they don’t seem to notice or care.)

    Capricorn woman has spoken!

    I am seeing myself luxuriating in my bath in my new home and making this a regular ritual as well.

    • Oh, I love this comment! Truly, this is one of the BEST comments you have posted on my blog! I must tell you, after reading what my personal Psychic Advisor, Roger Pratt, posted on his Facebook page to that individual, I soon realized I had forgotten how wonderful and yes, how Healing, baths are. Herbs, Essential Oils, Candles and Crystals, all make for a very powerful, very healing and very Magickal bath. And Holly, you ARE the Mistress of Manifestation; your new home with a second bath is already on its way to you.

  3. Reblogged this on Holly Troy ~ Sacred Folly and commented:
    How did I miss this post! Robert Alvarez does it again with a wonderful bathing ritual in two parts. (That’s two baths).

    I love baths! Currently baths are not an option – I share a bathroom with two too many people to get away with it. (I cannot wait to move!!! If a room of my own is the bathroom, I’ll take it!!)

  4. I feel this is one of the so much important information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna observation on few normal things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Good activity, cheers

    • Thank you for the kind comment, Sombreroni.

      My personal Psychic Advisor, Roger Pratt (www.rogerpratt.com) is a font of massive Metaphysical and Magickal Knowledge for me.

      Given the subtitle of my blog, “The Magickal and Mundane Musings of a Modern Mystic,” most of my posts are Metaphysical and Magickal in nature, but some are about the day to day aspects of my life in the mundane world.

      Nonetheless, given that I AM a Witch, and a Sacred Servant of Holy Spirit Goddess (not to mention being very Spiritual) the vast majority of my posts are going to be Magickal and Metaphysical and Spiritual in nature.

      I have thought about creating another blog, but with my schedule, and with the new professional endeavors opening up to me, a second blog would not be feasible, at this time. And if I did have a second blog, it would probably be about a specific Metaphysical or Magickal topic.

      Nonetheless, feel free to use the search bar to look for other posts on my blog, that are of a mundane nature. Thank you, again, for your kindness and have a wonderful week.

    • Thank you, Raspberry ketone blast. I appreciate the compliment.

      I launched “This Is Who I AM” on Tuesday, March 20, 2012, and launched my other WordPress blog, “This Gay Man’s Life…” on Tuesday, February 18, 2014.

      I have had a lot of practice, and have some wonderful friends who are also WordPress bloggers who have given me great advice.

      I AM glad that you are enjoying “This Is Who I AM.” May it continue to bring you great Blessings.

What do you think?

