The Issues of Money, Part II…

Good morning, dear blog readers, and a Happy Tuesday and Day of Mars (Day of Taking Decisive Action) to all of you!

Recently, I stated that a lot of the challenges that many of us began experiencing on Sunday, May 20, 2012 (the date that both the Sun and Moon entered Gemini [Sign of Communication], as well as the date of the Solar Eclipse in Gemini) would begin to dissolve as of yesterday, Monday, June 4, 2012.  The date of the Full Moon in Sagittarius, Sign of Mysticism.

Well, I can honestly say that is the case for me.  First, I met with a lovely lady about giving Readings at a Psychic Fair before the end of the month, and she was quite pleased with how I conduct Readings, especially Goddess Readings.  In addition, I received a check that I thought for certain I was not going to receive until either today or tomorrow, Wednesday, June 6.  Indeed, the tide is turning in my favor.

I keep thinking about the issues people have about money in connection to the Metaphysical, the Magickal and the Mystical.  I remember reading a passage from Letters to Louise: The Answers Are Within You, by Louise L. Hay.  In this particular letter, someone asked Louise why so many people connected to the Metaphysical charged very high fees.

Now, although I do not have the letter or the book in front of me, I do recall a portion of Louise L. Hay’s response.  She stated that some people feel that, because they cannot afford something, that it must be given to them for free.  That struck a chord with me for two reasons.  One, as someone who is a professional Psychic, it felt very good to read Louise’s statement; frankly, I felt she was “standing up” for me, and for all other professional Psychics, Metaphysical Teachers, Energy Healing Practitioners, etc.

Second, it also deepened my awareness of my own poverty consciousness and my sense of entitlement.  Yes, there are times when I have a sense of entitlement.  I do not know if it is because my family and I subsisted on welfare checks and food stamps, or if it is because I AM a Sun-Sign Capricorn and a typical Rising-Sign Leo, or because I was not one but two members of Royalty in two different past lives, or because of all of these reasons.  What I do know is that I need to be very careful to refrain from walking around, radiating, “Well, you are supposed to give this to me, muthafuckah, ’cause I’m in yo’ FACE!”

Nonetheless, I can honestly say that, because I AM a professional Psychic I have been spared certain horror stories.  I have a dear friend who was a professional Psychic.  However, before she was a professional Psychic, she felt that she needed to give free Readings as a way of developing her Psychic abilities, and increasing her confidence.

Well, there was this woman who often came to her for free Readings.  One day, she called my dear friend and asked her for a Reading.  Actually, she told her that this was an emergency and that she had to have a Reading with her.  At the time, my dear friend had the flu, so conducting a Reading was not in anyone’s best interests.  Well, half-an-hour later, this woman insisted to my dear friend that she still needed to have the Reading.

Finally, after this woman had been on the telephone with my dear friend for an hour, she realized that it would do no one any good for her to have a Reading while my dear friend had the flu.

Now, let me tell you about my dear friend.  She knows me quite well.  She knows that, had she told me about this incident shortly after it happened, I would have wrung her neck!  That is why she told me about this incident approximately THREE YEARS after it occurred, and while she was driving me to a subway station.  Incidentally, my friend is also a very intelligent woman.

Ladies and gentlemen, if you are a professional Lightworker, or have thought about doing so, then do yourselves and everyone on this Planet a huge favor: Charge.  A.  FEE!  And if you are not a professional Lightworker, but have talents and abilities and sell products and/or services that make a difference in people’s lives, then do yourselves and everyone on this Planet, too, a huge favor: Charge.  A.  FEE!  You do no one (least of all yourselves) any good clinging to this nonsense that you have to be impoverished or financially challenged to be Spiritual.

When I was broke, poor and heavily financially challenged the last thing I thought about was God.

Now, for those of you who do not feel comfortable accepting money from your relatives and friends, and you want to maintain that bullshit (OOPS!), I mean, that practice, then I give to you a great piece of advice from a lovely former client and private Tarot student.  Have them bring something to your Altar.  Said lovely former client and private Tarot student would conduct Readings with the Sacred Tarot, and she was also a Reiki Master and would conduct Shamanic Vision Quests.  When a friend or relative wanted to avail himself or herself of one of these services, this lovely lady would have them bring something to her Altar: flowers, a Crystal, fruit, incense, etc.

What you do makes a difference, and you have spent time, Energy and money to learn to do what you do.  You deserve to be compensated.  And if there is someone in your life–someone from whom you do not feel comfortable accepting money–that wants to avail himself or herself of your talents and abilities, then at the very least have him or her bring something to your Altar.  Let him or her know that what you do is beautiful, powerful and Sacred.  And when he or she does this, then you remember that YOU are beautiful, powerful and Sacred.  Thank you.

This is the Cosmic Cornucopia, the Holy Horn of Plenty. Allow Abundantia, the Roman Goddess of Divine Supply, to Bountifully Bless you with it.
5 comments on “The Issues of Money, Part II…

  1. Right on. Robert! I was just talking to one of my sisters about this very subject this afternoon. No more giving it away – period! There has got to be a fair exchange, otherwise it builds up weird expectations and makes the giver annoyed! And – I very much do like this idea of having someone bring something to your altar if you are not going to charge a fee – (for instance, if you are learning a skill and aren’t quite ready yet . . . be careful though . . . you may never feel ready!) there is still an exchange of energies going both ways.

    lots of love!! Holly

    • Oh, my Goddess! Once again, my Divine Timing ROCKS!! Truly, it is no coincidence that you and one of your sisters were having this conversation and then here comes my post, “The Issues of Money, Part II…” I would be curious to learn when exactly you were having this conversation with her. I published my post between 11AM-12PM, EDT. Personally, I AM no longer interested in experiencing resentment when I give, and I know that only and always happens when I AM either giving too much without being fully compensated, financially or otherwise, or I AM giving because someone else feels I must. Giving must be done in Joy, otherwise it does no good for anyone, especially the giver!

  2. Reblogged this on Holly Troy ~ Sacred Folly and commented:
    My sister and I were just discussing places that expect you to give your classes and workshops away for free in exchange for the sheer joy of doing the work (oh, and the powerful publicity of the event in their venue!) right before I read this blog piece by Robert Alvarez.

    When doing energetic work – or teaching yoga – or playing music (or any kind of service) it can feel weird at first charging a fee – afterall, the client isn’t buying a “product”. However, your time, experience, and wisdom does have value – and if you don’t value your own work, then who will?

  3. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog.

    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?

    A number of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer
    but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue?

    • Hello. Interesting question you posed.

      Interestingly enough, I almost exclusively use Mozilla Firefox as my Web browser.

      Now, what did you think about my post, “The Issues of Money, Part II?”

What do you think?

