Yule

Today is the Winter Solstice, and for many of my fellow Witches, Pagans and Wiccans today is also Yule, the Sabbat or Holy Day that represents the return of Light.

On Sunday, December 23, 2012, I have the honor and pleasure of leading a Yule Ritual with Grove Argentum, which is both a Manhattan-based Chapter of the Druid Clan of Dana and the International Fellowship of Isis.

I have only led one or two Rituals with Grove Argentum before, but I AM not as nervous as during my Practicum (the term the High Priestess uses for the Ritual one must lead to be considered for Initiation).  Then I was incredibly nervous, but I think I did a good job, regardless.

Personally, I love Yule/Winter Solstice because that is the date, Astrologically, when the Sun enters my Sun-Sign Capricorn.  For me, this date is most Auspicious.

In Western Astrology, when the Sun enters your Sun-Sign, that is a boost of Energy from the Universe to catapult your dreams and desires forward.  And I had forgotten how challenging the Sun’s Transit in Sagittarius can be (Psychically, no, but in other areas, yes).

So, for my fellow Capricorns, as well as those of you with any Planets in the Sign of the Goat, this is going to be a wonderful burst of not only Solar Energy, but also some Astrologically-enhanced Energy.

So, I ask all of you, especially my fellow Witches, Pagans and Wiccans, which areas of your life would you like to see have an increase of Light?  What areas of your life are still shrouded in the dark and the cold?

Now, personally, I have nothing against darkness and cold.  Frankly, I was born roughly two-and-a-half weeks after the Winter Solstice and two Nights after the New Moon.  And it has been scientifically proven that people sleep better in a room that is devoid of light.

And, please keep in Mind that one of the folk names for today is “The Longest Night.”  Today, the Sun shall rise (which it did, considering that right now, the time is approximately 12:09PM, EST), and shall set early today.  However, with each passing day, especially three days from today, the Sun shall rise a little earlier and set a little later.

Nonetheless, I AM definitely more open to Warmth and Light in my life, and in my relationships with others.

Yule represents the Rebirth of the Sun God/Son/Sun.  And, for me, it is a personal Re-Minder to shine one’s Light brightly, no matter what.

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my two newest blog followers, “purpleraysblog” and “prophetbrahmarishi.”  May both of you and yours experience an increase in Divine Clarity and Divine Illumination from my blog, “This Is Who I AM.”  And Happy Holidays.

The Blessed Yule log, courtesy of www.earthwitchery.com
The Blessed Yule log, courtesy of http://www.earthwitchery.com
One comment on “Yule

What do you think?

