Politics has no business in Arts.

This past Wednesday night, April 17, 2013, I was having a conversation with a good friend.  And I stated talking about this guy who is an inciter.  You know, those people who LOVE to say things to get a rise out of people, as well as cause problems.  I think all of us know people like that (and, perhaps SOME of you are like that.  Recently, I have been Divinely Guided to be wary of spies.  Go figure.).

Well, I soon discovered that I was beginning to talk about politics.  Now, I have publicly stated, both in person and on the Internet that I do not discuss politics, either publicly and certainly not privately.

Now, I happen to love the music of my fellow Cuban, Pitbull.  This man is talented and he also oozes and drips Sexual Energy.  About two years ago, I recall reading an article about him on the Internet, and the writer mentioned that he was uninformed about communism in Cuba.

Now, I must confess, when I listen to Pitbull’s music, I AM not focusing on what his political, social or personal views are about communism, politics, etc.  I AM focusing on his music.

Same thing with Omara Portuondo, the Sweetheart of the Buena Vista Social Club.  Last year, I went to a cultural event and someone there and I began talking about their music.  I mentioned that I missed the opportunity to see her in concert in my area (now I wish I had paid for the ticket, instead of my rent!), and this gentlemen mentioned that she supports communism.

Again, when I listen to her golden voice, I AM NOT thinking about her politics.  I AM focusing on the beauty of her voice; the passion in her lyrics.  When I listen to a vocalist or a band, when I look at a dance routine, when I view a piece of fine art, I AM NOT at all focusing on nonsense (and for me, it is nonsense) such as “Who did they vote for President?”  Or, “Is he/she/they pro-life or pro-choice?”

All I AM focusing on in that moment is the Artistry and the feelings in my Body and Soul as I do.  That is it.

Recently, the inciter I mentioned at the beginning of this blog post told me there are two people he encounters that are homophobic.  I have interacted with those same individuals and they have always been professional and polite toward me.  So, as long as they continue doing so, I have no problems with them.

People that always complain about something or someone shall ALWAYS have problems.  And if I have a problem, I go to the source (as well as the Source).  My life is better that way.

Granted, there is nothing at all wrong with telling a close friend about a problem or problematic person, but if one continues to go to people who cannot help you dissolve his or her problem, well, let me share one of my favorite quotes: “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”  Said by (the late and great) Albert Einstein.

But, given that we are more than half-way through National Poetry Writing Month, I began to think about how some people never receive their due because of the prejudices of others (or, what I simply and sublimely call the BULLSHIT!  Or, rather, the BOO-SHEET!).  And I came to the conclusion and realization that:

politics has no business being in the arts.

I would love to hear if you agree or disagree, or if you have no opinion either way.

In the meantime, I shall soon create and publish another blog post.  So, enjoy!

And I just found out that a fellow blogger, just for being a completely nice and blunt guy, has been receiving more death threats, just for being honest about life and relationships.

Again, too many people who have way too much time on their hands.

So, for those of you that are spying and inciting and creating unholy madness and unnecessary chaos, Witches are prepared to Hex and Curse you.  Enough said.

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who I AM and what I do.  And today, and always, may the Goddess and Sacred Attendants Protect, Prosper and Provide for you.

Given all the focus on Pan, the Greek God of Wild Fields and Wilder Lust this week, I Lovingly and Lavishly share this photograph that my wonderful friend, Gary Suto took of me in 2011, when he, I, and others of the NYC Open Gay Men's Pagan Magick Circle led a Ritual in Pan's Honor that same year at "Between the Worlds."
Given all the focus on Pan, the Greek God of Wild Fields and Wilder Lust this past week, I Lovingly and Lavishly share this photograph that my wonderful friend, Gary Suto took of me in 2011, when he, others, and I of the NYC Open Gay Men’s Pagan Magick Circle led a Ritual in Pan’s Honor that same year at “Between the Worlds.”
4 comments on “Politics has no business in Arts.

  1. I agree – though I am happy that more money is being poured into the National Endowment for the Arts next year . . . so maybe mixed. Or maybe some politicians just understand that for a society to evolve it must honor it’s artists.

    Kurt Vonnegut has an interesting theory: “I sometimes wondered what the use of any of the arts was. The best thing I could come up with was what I call the canary in the coal mine theory of the arts. This theory says that artists are useful to society because they are so sensitive. They are super-sensitive. They keel over like canaries in poison coal mines long before more robust types realize that there is any danger whatsoever.”

    • Wow! That was fast! I just pressed the “Publish” button less than three minutes ago!

      Holly, thank you for a great comment and for sharing a fantastic quote. The Analogy is brilliant. I always felt bad for those canaries, even though they saved so many lives.

      And, with regards to the NEA, I also have mixed feelings. I recall all the DTM (drama/trauma/melodrama) the late and great Robert Mapplethorpe went through with them.

  2. i do find it annoying when I like an artist and people have to talk about the artist’s politics, or their own politics because they feel it somehow ties to the artist. art rises above it all in the end I think. SOmetimes the personal becomes political – just being human can be controversial – as you know!

    I am sorry about your blogger friend having death threats. That is awful!!!

    Can we get back to the music? That comes from the heart – and if it doesn’t, it is easily felt.

    Of course artists are informed by their society, as is everyone who is living. To be an artist is not easy, since, as i mentioned above, art is not respected really. To be an artist is the willingness to be vulnerable and let the whole world see that vulnerability. If that is political,

    • Holly, your comment was brilliant!

      Several years ago, I worked for a major recruiting agency, and I recall a fine artist had come into the office selling his paintings. I remember there was one that grabbed me instantaneously, and I asked him how much it was and he said it was $100.

      Now, I must confess, when I heard that, I thought, “That is too much!” But then I remembered that not only was my annual salary rather high, I also received a monthly bonus based on the office’s net sales.

      Not to mention I was also giving Readings professionally, too, so I could certainly spare the $100, and I happily paid for the painting.

      I realized in that moment that the American Society does not have the reverence for Art like, say, Europe. And, it gave me a higher appreciation for Art and Artistry.

      Not at all coincidentally, I began to meet more artists, dancers, musicians, writers, actors, etc., around that time and still do.

      And, as I stated previously, whatever Pitbull’s and/or Omara Portuondo’s feelings about Cuban communism, it does not distract me from their amazing music.

      Thanks, again, for another brilliant comment. As always, I AM ever thankful for you, all you are and all you do.

What do you think?

