“The Good Boy”

This past Sunday, April 28, 2013, one of my closest friends treated me to see a play entitled The Good Boy.

Although the entire day and the night was filled with adventures, fun, insights and, of course in my life, Magick, watching this amazing play was truly a highlight of my day.

“The Good Boy” was written and performed by Michael Bonnabel.  It is the story of his life, growing up with two beautiful parents, both of whom were deaf, and, not coincidentally, lost their hearing when each were fifteen months old.

The play is filled with comedy relief, poignant moments, dark humor and incredibly descriptive language.  I cannot adequately recreate Mr. Bonnabel’s Wordsmith Powers (I have my own, thank you), but I especially loved hearing about the tree-lined streets and the funny and light-hearted manner in which he would describe the area in which he grew up, went to school, and more.

For those of you who attend this play, be prepared to experience some twists and turns.  There are moments that left me speechless, breathless and left me stunned.

You shall life, you shall cry, you shall rejoice, you shall commiserate.  And you shall remember why you love the people who you love (and why they love you).

I had the opportunity to speak with Mr. Bonnabel after the performance.  Ironically, the friend who treated me was using his cell phone in the bathroom.  See what people miss out on when they use their cell phones in the bathroom?

I love this man’s Energy, and he assured me that he was genuinely crying on stage at various occasions when re-living various “scenes” of his life.  He told me that he is not that great an actor (oh, yes, you are, Mr. Bonnabel) and what truly surprised me was that the play began with these beautiful songs.

Yes, songs.  And no, this is not a musical.  These songs were from the Heart of Michael Bonnabel and they were beyond touching.  I was immediately impressed by the clear tone of his singing voice.

Yes, it is lovely to have a clear and talented instrument in a singing voice, but there are some songs that we sing from our Soul and these were most certainly sung from the Soul of Michael Bonnabel.

“The Good Boy” is running at the Abdington Theatre Company in Manhattan, NYC until Sunday, May 19, 2013.  I cannot over-recommend seeing it.  Twice.

Please feel free to visit the following Web sites for more info:

 

http://www.abingdonthetre.org

http://www.michaelbonnabel.com

 

Now I wish to share a portion of what Ms. Jan Buttram, Artistic Director for the Abingdon Theatre Company wrote in the program for The Good Boy:

“When I read the script of The Good Boy, I immediately recognized myself as not so brave.  Actually, more like a wimp and (gasp!), a whiner.  The warmth and humor that spills off the pages of Michael Bonnabel’s play brought me an astounding appreciation for two young deaf parents who were determined to live their lives to the fullest, despite the challenges and surprises that lay before them.  I am thrilled to bring Michael Bonnabel’s family story to Abingdon–a son’s gift to his parents, shared with an artist’s compassion.”

Before I complete and publish this post, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog followers.  They are: “drillvoice,” “sarfrazmalik508,” “mhotaling,” and “thetruthyoualwaysknew.”  Thank you for following my blog, and may doing so bring Divine Blessings of Healing, Inspiration and Prosperity to you.

And for all of you that are already following my blog, may you continue to receive a Divine Abundance of all your desired Blessings.

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who I AM and what I do.  May you continue to be Divinely Protected from all false friends, false information, and fake energy, and may you only know Healing, Prosperity, Joy and Peace in your Earthly Sojourn.ATC_TGB_ProgramAd_pF2-web

What do you think?

