Nut

The Ancient Egyptian Pantheon Is one of the few that has a Sky Goddess and an Earth God.  In many Pantheons (Greek, Roman, etc.) there is an Earth Goddess and a Sky God.

As per Goddesses for Every Season, by Nancy Blair (Copyright 1995, Element Books, Inc., Rockport, Massachusetts), the Goddess for the Sixth Week of Summer Is Nut (pronounced NOOT), the Egyptian Goddess of the Starry Night Sky, and of Mystery.

Nut has as Her Divine Consort Is Geb (pronounced GEEB), the Egyptian God of the Earth.  Who Is the Earth.  Nut arches Her Body over land and sea and She comforts and consoles, She guides and graces.

The Sacred Story goes that Ra, the King of the Gods of the Egyptian Pantheon forbade Nut and Geb from conceiving children.  However, They used the “loophole” of the Intercalary Days in the Egyptian Calendar, thereby co-creating Auset/Isis, Ausar/Osiris, Neb-Het/Nephthys, Set/Seth, and Heru/Horus the Elder.

I have often written that “sleep is under-rated” and Nut (and Ms. Blair) recommend that, before you get out of bed and start your day, that you take a moment and imagine Sky Queen Nut caressing your complete Being; see yourself on the ground with soft, green grass under you, cushioning you, comforting you.

And allow whatever Words and Whispers from Nut to guide you in your day.

And, when you are done with your day, ask Nut to caress you with Her Blessed Blanket of Stars so that you can go into a deep sleep and see what She Whispers into your dreams to prepare you for the following day (or night, if you happen to sleep during the day).

I wish to share with all of you the Affirmation from the book for working with Nut.  Here it is:

 

“I stretch my imagination and soar with new ideas.  I have many choices for change.  I renew the mapway of my personal path.  I look forward with enthusiasm to the adventures that await me.”

 

Now, how many of us actually get out of bed with that Mindset?  I certainly did not this morning.  My Mindset was, “Oh, my Goddess!  I’m still fucking tired.  I want to go back to bed.”  Not very empowering, correct?

Nonetheless, as I Louise L. Hay has been saying, writing, thinking and practicing for more than half her life, an Affirmation is, truly, any thing we say or think (or write, those of you who live on Facebook).

So, no matter where you are or what you are doing, right now, take a deep breath, and Affirm, “TODAY, I LOOK FORWARD WITH ENTHUSIASM TO THE ADVENTURES THAT AWAIT ME THIS DAY!”

And if you do not mean it when you say, think, or write it, then fake it ’til you make it.  And ask Nut to guide you home, to your Sacred Center, to your Sacred Stillness and Mystical Mindfulness, your Cosmic Centeredness.

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who I AM and what I do.  May we continue to be Divinely Protected from all the false friends, false prophets and false truths that get in the way of our Divinely Appointed Blessings.

9781852306861_p0_v1_s114x166
This Illumined Image of Nut was created by Caroline Smith.
2 comments on “Nut

What do you think?

