Interludes: From Autumn to Winter…


In exactly one day, the first day of Winter (well, for those of us in the Northern Hemisphere, although there have already been Winter weather conditions in my part of the world) shall occur.

What does Winter mean to you?  And I do not mean what you do not like about Winter.

Really, what does Winter mean to you?

I AM always amazed when people who live on the East Coast (such as yours truly), express surprise and disgust when they talk about snow.  Thus far, I have remained successful in keeping my mouth shut (and my comments untyped), for if not, I would ask, “Are you new to the area?”

You live in New York, it is late November, and it snowed.  Big deal.

Now, if this was California, in July, and it snowed, then I can imagine getting worked up about it.

Now, let me briefly tell you why I do not get worked up about snow.

Several years ago, I had the honor and pleasure of facilitating meetings and parties with a club called “The Tarot Lover’s Club.”  I recall, one time, there were going to be three first-timers in attendance.  Two of them informed me that they would not be able to attend, because they heard it was going to snow four-to-six inches on that date

As for the third first-timer, he told me that his mother wanted to spend the day with him, as it was the day before his Birthday (he was a January Aquarius).  And then, in the same message, he said, “Did you know it’s going to snow four to six inches?”

Well, I had enough!  I thought to myself, “You know, most of us are Witches, and we have the power to influence the weather, and it shall NOT snow on this date (as in, the date of this particular Tarot Lover’s Club Meeting and Party).

Guess what, ladies and gentlemen, blog followers and blog readers?  It did snow.  About half-an-hour after the conclusion of the Party portion of the Tarot Lover’s Club Meeting and Party, it snowed for roughly five minutes.  Then, it stopped snowing five minutes after that.  Ten minutes later there was no evidence of snow on the ground.

Since that time, I often tell people who I do not believe it shall snow unless and until I see it.  If you were to call me from Alaska and tell me it is snowing, fine and good.  But if you call me from across the Hudson River and tell me it might snow, or that you heard from a weather-soothsayer that it is going to snow, tonight, tomorrow, whatever, I do not want to hear it.

And there you have it.

The late and great Eleanor Roosevelt said, “Great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, small minds discuss people.”  I would imagine she would have included weather conditions, too, but I digress.

On a more Spiritually Uplifting note, Winter is a time of silence and repose, a time to regenerate myself.

And, as someone with three Planets in Capricorn, the first Day of Winter, is also the first day of the Sun’s Transit in Capricorn, Sign of Wealth and Wisdom and of the Father (human and Divine).  Astrologically speaking, this is a High Solar Cycle for those of us whose Sun-Sign is Capricorn.

Personally, I love Winter.  I get to wear my blazers, scarves, shawls.  I can wear a three-piece suit without being drenched in sweat five seconds after I leave my apartment.  I get to have fun coordinating blazers with vests, shirts, pants, and it makes organizing my clothes closet in my bedroom most enjoyable.

And, I love snow, because really, who ever heard of a grass angel?

So, during this Winter, remember to allow your Light to shine brightly.

I recall one of my closest friends, Gary Suto, the founder of the NYC Open Gay Men’s Pagan Magick Circle, saying that Yule (what some Witches refer to as the Winter Solstice) represents the return of Light.

The Winter Solstice is known as “The Longest Night,” because of the most number of nighttime or dark hours.

However, with each passing day after the Winter Solstice (or, more often than not, three days after the Winter Solstice), the Sun rises a little bit earlier, and sets a little bit later, until the date of the Summer Solstice, also known as “The Longest Day,” (Saturday, June 21, 2013, 6:51AM, EDT, according to my copy of Llewellyn’s 2014 Daily Planetary Guide), when we have the highest number of daytime/daylight hours.

But a day or two after the Summer Solstice, the Sun begins to rise a little later and set a little earlier, and then when the Winter Solstice returns, that Cycle of Light and Dark begins anew.

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who I AM and what I do.  May this Holiday Season Divinely and Abundantly Bless us with Divine Prosperity, Divine Protection and Divine Peace.seasonsoftheyear

13 comments on “Interludes: From Autumn to Winter…

  1. When I lived back east if there was a chance of snow, I didn’t believe it until it happened as well!

    Here if they say 20% chance of snow – get ready! It’s gonna snow. And it very well could snow in June.

    om shanti ~

        • No worries, Holly. I had a feeling you meant your part of the world, but I wanted to clarify.

          Although neither Mercury, Uranus nor Pluto are Retrograding, there have been a few things I have read about on the Internet and with a friend’s smartphone, that have led me to reconfirm that none of these Planets are Retrograding.

          Hence my desire to confirm for clarity.

        • See? And again, no worries.

          Truth be told, I rarely assume anything, either. One of my favorite expressions is “Assume nothing.”

          And, after seeing my International stats for my blog for the first time a few months ago, I always make a point of writing posts that specify in which part of the world I live.

          For example, when I write posts about my upcoming Events, such as my “Divine Prosperity Events,” I always state the address, so that people know where to go.

          You honor me greatly, Holly, and I AM most thankful.

        • Writing you address is a great idea. I can’t tell you how strange I find it when people invite me to things – or announce things, and then don’t even mention what town they are in.

          On another completely different not, my sleep is upside down. For the last three or four nights, I have been falling asleep at 2:30 in the morning. I am amped up. So many ideas.

          Also excited that I will be teaching yoga again (in Flagstaff). But more excitedly, I am planning on being able to hold workshops on sexuality and writing where I will be teaching yoga. As that unfolds – you will hear about it.

          Om shanti – Robert!

        • Not too long ago, I had a conversation with an occasional client. He told me that one of my broadcast Emails was too long. I replied, “I could always send a broadcast Email that reads, “I AM leading a Class.”

          Then, I told him that one of the reasons my broadcast Emails are so long is because I want to make sure all the information is listed. Where it is, what to bring, how to prepare, etc. He never brought it up again. And yes, he has participated in my Metaphysical Classes since.

          Mr. Prosperity would say that if someone does not list the location of his or her workshop is resisting his or her Divine Birthright to Permanent Prosperity.

          That may seem harsh to some, but I asked one of my personal heroes his thoughts and he said, “I would be leery of someone who doesn’t list the address.” So much for what I wrote being harsh.

          And as much as I love the Metaphysical Classes that I lead, I AM especially excited about what you are co-creating with Sydney and with Holy Spirit Goddess. I look forward to the unfolding.

What do you think?

