Brigit

As per Nancy Blair’s Goddesses for Every Season, (Copyright 1995, Element Books, Inc., Rockport, Massachusetts), the Goddess of the Seventh Week of Winter Is Brigit (also known as Brigid or Brighid), the Irish Goddess of Divine Healing, Divine Inspiration and Divine Prosperity.

I must confess, there was a time when I cared not a whit for anything Celtic.  However, that changed more than a few years ago.

I attended an Imbolg (also known as Imbolc; pronounced IH-molk, and can also be pronounced ihm-MOHL-guh)  Ritual with Grove Argentum, a Manhattan-based Chapter of both the Druid Clan of Dana, and the International Fellowship of Isis.

That particular night, I met (the late and great) Alexei Kondratiev.  I would eventually learn that he was the author of, among others, The Apple Branch: A Path to Celtic Ritual (Copyright 2003, Kensington Publishing Corporation, New York, New York).

When I listened to him share Sacred Stories about Brigit, I was mesmerized.  I recall asking the Priestess, “Who is this guy?”  And she simply answered, “He’s Alexei Kondratiev.”  I waited a moment, then asked again, “Who is this guy?”

It was the first time that I had become interested in anything Celtic, and my interest has remained strong and continued to grow.

In fact, a few years later, a client has scheduled an Email Reading with me; before I conduct an Email Reading, I ask the client to Email a list of questions he or she wants answered during the Email Reading.

Her first question was fantastic: “How can I deepen my Celtic Spirituality?”  Even before the Reading began, I saw the book Goddess Alive!: Inviting Celtic & Norse Goddesses Into Your Life, by Michelle Skye (Copyright 2007, Llewellyn Publications, Woodbury, Minnesota) in my Psychic Mind.  I eventually began reading and working with this book.  And yes, Brigit (or, in this book, Brigid) is the Goddess for the Imbolc Chapter.

I have always found it fascinating that, regardless of the date of the Winter Solstice, what some of my fellow Witches call Yule, it seems as though when the Seventh Week of Winter comes around, or Birgit’s Week, if you will, it always includes February 1 and 2.

Working with Brigit is rather easy.  Especially now, since February 2 (or, in some Magickal Traditions, February 1), this Is one of Her most Sacred Feast Dates.  Of course, there are other Sacred Times.

According to The Goddess Wisdom Cards, by Jill Fairchild and Regina Schaare, illustrated by Sandra M. Stanton (Copyright 1999, Great Goddess Press, Portland, Maine), another one of Brigit’s Feast and Festival Days is May 4.

And according to Raven Kaldera’s MythAstrology: Exploring Planets and Pantheons  (Copyright 2004, Llewellyn Publications, Woodbury, Minnesota), Brigit claimed the Mars in Virgo Placement.  Now, by the way, by the time 2014 comes to a close, Mars shall be in Aquarius, which means that Mars shall not enter Virgo before the end of this year.

According to http://www.astro.com/swisseph/swepha_e.htm Mars enters Aries on Saturday, September 26, 2015.  And given that Mars spends roughly fifty-seven days in a Sign, we all have additional opportunities to call upon and work with Brigit.

Like many Celtic (especially Irish) Goddesses, Brigit Is connected to the Sun, and especially to the Element of Fire.  In fact, one of the many translations of Her Name Is “Fiery Arrow.”  So, I invite you to light a Candle to Brigit.  You can also give Her offerings of milk, honey, butter and cream.  She Is also fond of metalcrafted items, perhaps a piece of jewelry set with a gemstone in either an Earth or a Fire color.

Finally, I wish to leave you with three Sacred Statements about Brigit (after all, She Is also a Triple Goddess).  The first is from The Goddess Wisdom Cards, by Jill Fairchild and Regina Schaare, illustrated by Sandra M. Stanton.

 

Brigid’s Wisdom: Allow your receptivity to fully open.  Be consumed by the fire of your creativity, honoring process as well as product.  When you acknowledge my presence in your heart there is no end to the inspiration I will bring you.  Healing and fertility await you in all your endeavors when you approach them with a pure and impassioned spirit.

 

The second one is from Goddess Alive! Inviting Celtic & Norse Goddesses Into Your Life, by Michelle Skye.

 

Invocation to Brigid

Most blessed Brigid,

Bright Arrow,

Arousing, swirling, teaching,

Direct my words and

Focus my art

To resonate your will

Beneath the sky, beneath the sea.

Goddess of the sun and

Of the eternal fire,

You inspire.

 

Most sacred Brigit,

Sudden flame,

Shaping, melding, purifying,

Forge my hands and

Guide my heart

To do your bidding

Beneath the sky, beneath the sea.

Goddess of the Sun and

Of the eternal fire,

You transform.

 

Most honored Brigid,

Living light,

Calming, soothing, restoring,

Mend my wounds and

Allow your love

To shine through me

Beneath the sky, beneath the sea,

Goddess of the sun and

Of the eternal fire,

You heal.

 

Most blessed Brigid,

Living light,

Bright Arrow,

Goddess of the sun and

Of the eternal fire,

Arise like a shining sun!

 

Brigid, goddess immortal,

Most blessed,

I light this candle

In fiery offering to you.

 

And yes, having a candle ready to be lit, at the appropriate time, would be a good idea.

Finally, here is the Affirmation for Brigit in Goddesses for Every Season, by Nancy Blair

Oh, yes, She Is not only Goddess, She Is a Saint, too.  They are NOT the same, ladies and gentlemen, blog followers and blog readers.  Nonetheless, for the purpose of this blog post, I AM focusing on Brigit, the Goddess.

 

I use my imagination to brightly enrich my life.  I no longer need to rush around trying to make things happen.  Bright blessings easily flow into my life.  I make room for unexpected, joyful surprises.

 

And for those of you who may be unable to honor Brigit this weekend, I wholeheartedly invite you to do so, sometime between now and Thursday, March 20, 2014, the date of the Vernal Equinox (which some of my fellow Witches refer to as Ostara).  For many, Imbolc is a Season, as well.

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who I AM and what I do.  May we receive Brigit’s Bounty overflowing with Healing, Inspiration and Prosperity.

A Blessed Brigit, by Jane Iris.  This image can be found on the "Don't Back Down" Card in "Goddess Guidance Oracle Cards," by Doreen Virtue, Ph.D.
A Blessed Brigit, by Jane Iris. This image can be found on the “Don’t Back Down” Card in “Goddess Guidance Oracle Cards,” by Doreen Virtue, Ph.D.
6 comments on “Brigit

    • Thank you very much.

      Given how Sacred Birgit (or, as I prefer to call Her, Brighid) has become to me, I truly felt that I needed to give Her a proper blog post.

      And given how vast Her Energy Is, as well as how much She Is a Goddess of many things–Healing, Inspiration, Prosperity, Fire, the Sun, and so much more–this became a post that was more than halfway between 1050 and 1100 words.

      In fact, at last count, in the wee hours of the morning, I saw it had 1,062, and Brighid deserves all of the credit and praise, especially on one of Her most Sacred of Feast Dates.

  1. I have always felt drawn to Brighid, and your post helps me understand the many reasons why that could be. As a Sagittarius, I love that one of her names is “Fiery Arrow”. I didn’t know that! I actually wanted to name my daughter “Brigit” but my brother-in-law had a dog by that name at the time, and I just didn’t want to do it. Now I kind of wish I had!

    • Zanna, thank you for your comment.

      If your daughter is open to it, perhaps Birgit could be her Magickal Name. Or, it could be the name you refer to her as when it is just you and her, in Sacred Mother-Daughter time.

      Actually, one of the many translations of Birgit’s Name Is “Fiery Arrow.” Another one is “Bright Flame.” There are several. I only listed the Ones that I remembered at the time I created the post.

      In addition to being the Irish Goddess of Divine Healing, Divine Inspiration and Divine Prophecy, She Is also a Goddess of Prophecy. In fact, in the “Faery Wicca Tarot,” by Kisma K. Stepanich, illustrated by Renee Christine Yates (Copyright 2004, Llewellyn Worldwide, Woodbury, Minnesota), Birgit Is on The High Priestess Card of that Deck.

    • How wonderful. Are you also a Reiki Master, or a Reiki I or Reiki II Practitioner?

      I have a few of Diane Stein’s books, but I AM long overdue to work with them.

      Also, yes, I have seen Brighid’s Name spelled Bride, too. As I stated in my post about Birgit, I became connected to Her more deeply than I ever thought I would because of the Sacred Storytelling and Blessed Bardic skills of the late and great Alexei Kondratiev, who wrote, among others, “The Apple Branch.”

      And I think it is easy for anyone who writes to have a connection to Bride, Saraswati, Athena, etc.

What do you think?

