New Year Resolutions


In exactly four days, 2015, “The Year of Taking it to the Next Level” shall begin.

Before I get to the main part of this blog post, I would like to point out that there are many different kinds of “New Years.”  After all, January 1 marks the beginning of the new calendar year.

For example, in many Magickal Traditions, Samhain (correctly pronounced SOW-when, and more commonly known as Halloween), represents the Witch’s New Year.

The New Year, in Western Astrology, begins on the first day of the Sun’s Transit in Aries, the First Sign of the Zodiac, and, appropriately, the Sign of New Beginnings.  Next year, that shall be on Friday, March 20, 2015.  Interestingly enough, that is also the date of the New Moon in Aries, further deepening those Energies of New Beginnings.

The Jewish New Year, also known as Rosh Hashanah, was on Thursday, September 25, 2014.

Also, the Islamic New Year, also known as Muharram, began on Saturday, October 25, and culminated on Saturday, November 22, 2014.

Now, regarding New Year resolutions:

The prefix “re” means “again.”  Etymologically speaking, the word “resolve” means “to loosen again.”

However, I have witnessed time and again, both in my own life, as well as in the lives of clients, students, and friends, that when we “resolve” to refrain from doing something, we keep doing it.

For example, how many people do you know that have “resolved” to lose weight in the New Year?  How many of you have “resolved” to lose weight in the New Year?  And how many of these people or how many of you, have done so?

Is this a criticism?  Absolutely not.  It is an observation.

For many years, I have felt that instead of making a list of “resolutions,” one would be better off making a list of “dissolutions.”  In other words, what are you willing to dissolve in the New Year, so that you can have a truly Happy, Healthy, Prosperous and Peaceful New Year?

Here is my “Dissolution” List:

 

Robert Alvarez’s Dissolution List for 2015

In the name of all the Divine Powers of the Universe, I vow to dissolve:

1. poverty consciousness

2. fears about my physical health and well-being

3. all unimportant, disempowering relationships and associations

4. financial worries

5. fears preventing me from keeping my Energetic Heart wide open and receptive

 

Notice, I did not capitalize any of the words.  That is to diminish their importance in my life, on a mental level.

I invite you to try it, and see what happens in late January, the middle of the year, as well as the end of the year.

Also, I invite you to refrain from dwelling on whatever bad situation, occurrence, etc., happened to you this year, because remember the incredibly simple, and incredibly powerful Law of Attraction: whatever you focus on increases.

So, if you spend the majority of your time and energy focusing on bad things, bad situations, bad people, etc., then that is what shall increase.

In spite of the health scare that was killing me this past April, I have chosen not to dwell on it.  Then again, this was not the first time I have been close to death, and given that I AM now embracing and strengthening my Mediumship abilities, it shall not be the last time I shall be around death, either.

Frankly, 2014, “the Year of Powerful, Transformative Change,” has been a very good year for me.  A lot of good people, a lot of wonderful opportunities, a lot of wonderful new doors opened up for me, so I AM quite excited about 2015, “the Year of Taking it to the Next Level.”

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge the resources I used to create this blog post.  They are:

 

Llewellyn’s 2015 Daily Planetary Guide

Ask.com

timeanddate.com

etymonline.com

 

Have a great night, and Happy New (Calendar) Year!new-year-greetings

3 comments on “New Year Resolutions

What do you think?

