NaPoWriMo, Day 5, A “Possible” Hymn to the Goddess Auset…

Before I go to the main part of my post, I must state that it upsets and angers me that there are people with too much time on their hands that felt the need to convert the common name of my Celestial Mother into an acronym of terrorism.

For the record, the Great and Glorious Auset, the Ancient Egyptian Goddess more commonly known as Isis, Divinely Directed me to refer to Her as Auset more than a decade ago.

The only reason I use Her common Name is because most people are unfamiliar with the Name Auset, but I digress.

All that aside, I decided to enter the phrase “prayers to the goddess isis” in a Google search, and I found a poem that is ascribed to Her on Paulo Coehlo’s blog.  It is attributed to the Nag Hammadi Library, which is a collection of ancient, Gnostic texts found in Nag Hammadi, Egypt in 1945.  I have had a copy of the texts for years, and I think I may need to reread it. but not just yet.

But now, here is a “possible” hymn to the Great and Glorious Auset:

 

For I am the first and the last

I am the venerated and the despised

I am the prostitute and the saint

I am the wife and the virgin

I am the mother and the daughter

I am the arms of my mother

I am barren and my children are many

I am the married woman and the spinster

I am the woman who gives birth and she who never procreated

I am the consolation for the pain of birth

I am the wife and the husband

And it was my man who created men

I am the mother of my father

I am the sister of my husband

And he is my rejected son

Always respect me

For I am the shameful and the magnificent one

 

Sounds like an appropriate Hymn to Auset to me!

Thank you, one and all, for honoring who I AM and what I do.

And good night.

One of my favorite images of Auset, from the "Universal Goddess Tarot," by Maria Caratti, illustrated by Antonella Platano.
One of my favorite images of Auset, from the “Universal Goddess Tarot,” by Maria Caratti, illustrated by Antonella Platano.

 

One comment on “NaPoWriMo, Day 5, A “Possible” Hymn to the Goddess Auset…

What do you think?

