Four Magickal Cozy Mystery Series, Part I…

For a while now, I have been a fan of a genre or perhaps subgenre of novels called “Cozy Mysteries.”

In this blog post, I talk about four of those particular Cozy Mystery Series that have a Magickal or Witchy theme to them.

Although I recorded a YouTube video about it, I shall discuss each of these Magickal-themed Cozy Mystery Series, in brief.

Also, I have often read in various writing journals, over the years, that a truly good writer can write a novel or story that is part of a series.

However, I AM one of those people who prefers to begin a series of novels from the very beginning.

With that, the novels that are depicted in this post, and in the corresponding YouTube video, are the first in their respective series.

And here we go…

 

“Secondhand Spirits,” by Juliet Blackwell, is the first in the “Witchcraft Mystery” Series of Cozy Mysteries.

The first of these “Four Magickal  Cozy Mystery Series” is Secondhand Spirits, by Juliet Blackwell (Copyright 2009, New American Library, a division of Penguin Group USA, New York, New York). This is the first in the “Witchcraft Mystery” Series of novels.

The lead female character is Lily Ivory, a “reluctant” Witch (well, at first, she is, but I digress).  Ms. Ivory is also the owner of Aunt Cora’s Closet, a vintage clothing store located in San Francisco.

I happen to love that Lily is part Mexican, and that her maternal grandmother is a curandera, a Healer woman in her culture.  And the Book of Shadows that Ms. Ivory received from her makes me salivate with a touch of envy.

Here is a side note: some of the places listed in this series are actual places.  A perfect example is Coffee to the People, which is mentioned in all the novels, and at least once in each novel in this Series.

Don’t believe me?  Feel free to visit the indie coffee shop’s Website:

http://coffeetothepeople.blogspot.com/

I must acknowledge that, in the video, I mistakenly referred to the second novel in the series, A Cast Off Coven, as the first.  It is truly, most ironic, that neither my amazing audio-visual tech person (who LOVES this Series) nor I caught my mistake.  But please feel free to laugh about it, as my audio-visual tech person and I did!

In addition, when I looked for my copy of Secondhand Spirits, I was unable to find it.  I believe I still have it, as I have all the others in this Series, but where exactly it is located, right now, well, is a bit of a mystery.

To check out the other novels in this Series, as well as Ms. Blackwell’s other works, feel free to visit her Website:

http://julietblackwell.net/

“Pall in the Family,” by Dawn Eastman, first in the “Family Fortune Mystery” Series of Cozy Mysteries.

Next, we have Pall in the Family, by Dawn Eastman (Copyright 2013, The Berkeley Publishing Group, published by the Penguin Group, New York, New York).  This is the first in the “Family Fortune Mystery” Series of novels.

I found out about this Cozy Mystery Series by accident.

You see, I had the opportunity to spend time with Shell of the SwanofDreamers BlogSpot Blog, and I happened to see her reading this book.  And I was like, “What’s that?”  And she told me.

By the way, I highly recommend you visit Shell’s BlogSpot/Blogger Blog sometime.  Here is the link:

https://swanofdreamers.blogspot.com/

Now, being a professional Psychic, how could I not want to read a series of novels about professional Psychics as well as Psychic Development and various forms of Divination?

I have come to enjoy how Clyde feels more comfortable with her natural Psychic Powers, and yes, I AM looking forward to the fifth novel in the Series.

Feel free to visit Ms. Eastman’s Website by clicking on:

http://dawneastman.com/

“Tempest in the Tea Leaves,” by Kari Lee Townsend, the first in the “Fortune Teller Mystery” Series.

And now, we have Tempest in the Tea Leaves, by Kari Lee Townsend (also known as Kari Lee Harmon) (Copyright 2011, Berkeley Publishing Group, Penguin Group, USA, New York, New York).  This is the first in the “Fortune Teller Mystery” Series of novels.

As most of you know, I happen to love alliteration.  One of my favorite television series is Bones, and I immediately noticed that virtually every title in the television series was an alliteration.

For example, Season 12, Episode 4 of Bones was entitled “The Price for the Past,” and Episode 5 of the same Season was entitled, “The Tutor in the Tussle.”

The second novel in Ms. Eastman’s “Fortune Teller Mystery” Series is entitled Corpse in the Crystal Ball, and the third is entitled Trouble in the Tarot.  Notice the alliteration?  And yes, I AM certainly looking forward to that novel.  Ms. Eastman had me at “Tarot!”

In the video, you may have noticed I had difficulty keeping a straight face (no pun intended) about the fact that the lead character’s name is Sunny Meadows.  And yes, “Sunny” is short for “Sunshine.”  This is stated on the back of the paperback.

To find out more about the “Fortune Teller Mystery” Series, as well as the other works of Ms. Townsend, feel free to visit her Website:

http://www.karileetownsend.com/

“Caught Dead Handed,” by Carol J. Perry, the first novel in the “Witch City Mystery” Series.

And finally, we have Caught Dead Handed, by Carol J. Perry (Copyright 2014, Kensington Publishing Corp., New York, New York).  This is the first novel in the “Witch City Mystery” Series.

I must admit, this was a bit of a surprise, as I had not noticed this novel, previously.  Of course, when I read the back of the paperback, and saw the words, “She’s not a psychic–she just plays one on TV,” I think it is safe to say I became a fan!

So far, there are five novels in the “Witch City Mystery” Series, and I look forward to reading all of them, in due time.

To find out more about Ms. Perry, I highly recommend you visit her Website:

http://caroljperry.com/index.html

 

And there you have it.  Four novels in four different Magickal and Witchy-themed Cozy Mystery Series.

And here is the video that accompanies this particular blog post:

I would love to hear from all of you, as to which of these “Four Magickal Cozy Mystery Series” draws you the most, and which ones you are looking forward to reading.

In addition, if you know of any other Magickal or Witchy-themed Cozy Mystery Series, let me know that in the comments, too.

Truly, from the ones I have heard about, thus far, give me enough material to make a second and third part to this unofficial series of blog posts, maybe even a fourth or fifth!

Before I close, I wish to acknowledge my newest blog follower to this, my professional, Metaphysically-oriented WordPress Blog, “This Is Who I AM” “recipesbyjennifer.”  Thank you so much for honoring who I AM and what I do.  May following “This Is Who I AM” bring you a Divine Abundance of Radiance, Prosperity and Peace.

And for those of you already following or reading my blog, may you receive so many Divine Blessings, Gifts, and Miracles.

Thank you.

Oh, yes! I loved finding this variation of the “Keep Calm and Carry On” slogan!!
2 comments on “Four Magickal Cozy Mystery Series, Part I…

    • Indeed, I have come to love the Magickal/Witchy themed Cozy Mysteries, although there are a few others that have begun to intrigue me, in spite of not having a Magickal/Witchy theme. I might do a special video on them, too. By the way, there is already a “Part II” with another “Four Magickal Cozy Mystery Series” video. The accompanying blog post is forthcoming, too.

What do you think?

